icon film  GOTS film  gb de fr it es jp ch

Étiquetage d'un produit

Mis à jour le jeudi 12 mars 2015 19:50

Exigences de certification dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement

Toute enterprise envisageant de vendre, d’étiqueter ou de représenter un produit textile avec le logo de la marque déposée GOTS, avec l’étiquetage GOTS et/ou toute autre référence à GOTS (certification) doit tout d’abord veiller à ce que les critères respectifs et les conditions de certification du programme Global Organic Textile Standard soient respectés.
Le système d’assurance qualité GOTS exige qu’au-delà de l’intégralité de la chaîne de traitement et de fabrication (de la manutention post-récolte à la couture, à l’emballage et à l’étiquetage), les négociants B2B (= négociants qui vendent à d’autres entreprises telles que des importateurs et exportateurs, grossistes) doivent également participer au programme d’inspection et de certification avant que les produits finis puissent être étiquetés et certifiés GOTS afin de fournir une assurance produit crédible et cohérente au consommateur final.

Bien que les négociants ne modifient pas les produits, ils achètent et vendent des produits textiles biologiques et représentent un maillon essentiel pour obtenir transparence et traçabilité dans la chaîne de valeur. La certification des négociants est basée sur la vérification de la documentation de leur flux de produits. Les certificateurs tracent la quantité de produits textiles biologiques grâce au calcul du bilan matière des textiles certifiés GOTS achetés et vendus afin de veiller à ce que tous les produits qui sont vendus avec une déclaration de certification GOTS soient effectivement correctement certifiés. Avec l’exigence de certification pour les négociants, on peut veiller à ce qu’ils prennent connaissance de la documentation requise pour vérifier l’authenticité des produits certifiés GOTS et à ce qu’ils aident ainsi à garantir l’intégrité des produits GOTS.

Les titulaires de marque et les détaillants vendant des produits finis certifiés GOTS, qui sont reçus déjà emballés et étiquetés, directement et exclusivement au consommateur final sont généralement exonérés de cette obligation de certification.

Les autres négociants ayant un chiffre d’affaires annuel avec des produits GOTS inférieur à 5 000 € sont exonérés de l’obligation de certification, sauf s’ils (ré)emballent ou (ré)étiquettent les produits GOTS. Toutefois, ces négociants doivent s’inscrire auprès d’un certificateur agréé et doivent informer ce dernier dans les plus brefs délais lorsque leur chiffre d’affaires annuel dépasse les 5 000 €.

Application du label

Avec l’octroi de la certification GOTS par un certificateur agréé, l’entité certifiée acquiert une sous-licence qui lui confère le droit de participer au programme GOTS et d’utiliser la norme et le logo GOTS sur ses produits GOTS concernés conformément aux dispositions du présent guide d’étiquetage et tant que la certification reste valide.

Les entités certifiées, les négociants, les titulaires de marque et les détaillants qui envisagent de faire étiqueter des produits conformément à GOTS et/ou de vendre des produits étiquetés (avec le logo GOTS) doivent contacter leur certificateur GOTS respectif (pour recevoir les fichiers des logos correspondants et) pour l’approbation finale de l’application de leur étiquette.

En tout état de cause, l'étiquetage GOTS ne peut être appliqué sur le produit / l'emballage que par une entité certifiée et il doit avoir été approuvé par le certificateur agréé de l'entité certifiée préalablement à son application.

Les négociants, les titulaires de marque et les détaillants qui sont exonérés de l’exigence de certification GOTS peuvent demander à leur fournisseur certifié d’appliquer l’étiquetage GOTS. Dans ce cas, l’étiquetage sera conforme à l’enquête du certificateur GOTS du fournisseur et le numéro de licence du fournisseur apparaîtra sur l’étiquette. Ils peuvent sinon décider de demander une certification sur la base du volontariat et d'avoir leur propre numéro de licence imprimé sur leurs produits certifiés.

Remarque: en saisissant le numéro de licence dans la « zone de texte libre » de notre base de données publique, l’ensemble de données correspondant concernant l’entité certifiée (qui est saisi par le certificateur GOTS concerné) peut être consulté.

Un étiquetage GOTS correct et complet

Pour le marquage des produits, le logo GOTS doit toujours être accompagné d’une référence à la catégorie d’étiquette applicable, d’une référence au certificateur agréé qui a certifié les produits marqués (nom et/ou logo du certificateur, par ex.) et du numéro de licence de l’entité certifiée. En conséquence, l’étiquetage contient les éléments suivants:

Les détaillants (y compris les sociétés de vente par correspondance) qui ne sont pas contraints de participer au système de certification GOTS peuvent utiliser le même étiquetage GOTS dans les catalogues et sur les pages Internet que celui qui est utilisé concernant l’identification sur les produits des produits certifiés qu’ils achètent. Si les produits finis achetés ne portent aucun étiquetage direct, ils ne doivent ni être présentés, ni être annoncés, ni être vendus (dans des catalogues et sur des pages Internet) avec un étiquetage GOTS ou avec des références de certification.

Remarque importante: les conditions d’étiquetage GOTS n’autorisent pas à utiliser le logo GOTS ni une référence à une certification GOTS sur le vêtement / le produit textile fini si la certification GOTS est uniquement valide pour des étapes intermédiaires (telles que l’étape du fil ou du tissu) ou pour des composants spécifiques du produit. L’étiquetage ou le référencement GOTS n’est pas non plus autorisé si les négociants B2B dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement ne participent pas au système de certification. La condition préalable pour l’utilisation d’une étiquette sur un produit est que l’intégralité de la chaîne de valeur et le produit fini soient certifiés.

Utilisation non commerciale du logo

En plus de son application en tant que marque d’identification pour les produits GOTS, le logo GOTS représente la norme Global Organic Textile Standard en tant que telle. Le logo ne peut donc être utilisé que dans un contexte approprié et sans ambiguïté, par exemple à des fins informatives et publicitaires, par :

  • Les membres du Groupe de travail international
  • Les certificateurs agréés en faisant référence à leur statut agréé et proposant leurs services d’assurance qualité associés
  • Les entités certifiées, les titulaires de marques et les détaillants faisant référence à leur statut opérationnel certifié et/ou à leurs produits GOTS marqués du logo GOTS. Les négociants et détaillants notamment peuvent uniquement utiliser le logo GOTS ou une autre référence à la norme GOTS (certification) dans ce contexte si les produits vendus visés portent directement un étiquetage complet et correct.
  • Les parties prenantes, les ONG, les médias et les autres parties qui diffusent des informations indépendantes (aux consommateurs).

Droits de licence

Outre le coût de la certification, chaque entité certifiée doit s’acquitter d’un droit de licence annuel. Le droit de licence est fixé à 120 euros pour chaque site inspecté pour une entité certifiée. Indépendant des ventes associées, ce droit couvre également le droit d’utiliser le logo GOTS sur des produits textiles certifiés. Les droits de licence sont collectés par le certificateur agréé et transférés au Groupe de travail international.

Informations de référence

La liste complète des conditions de certification et d’étiquetage, y compris des dispositions pour le marquage produit et des caractéristiques de conception associées, est établie dans le « Guide de certification et d’étiquetage » qui est présenté et disponible en téléchargement ici.

Les réponses aux questions fréquemment posées concernant la certification et l’étiquetage peuvent être consultées ici.

D’autres informations concernant la procédure de certification GOTS sont fournies dans la section «Comment être certifié».

Les certificateurs agréés GOTS, leurs contacts locaux ainsi que les pays dans lesquels ils ont déjà des clients GOTS certifiés sont listés ici.

Les informations fournies avec la fiche publiée précédemment « Informations importantes pour les sociétés qui vendent ou font de la publicité pour des produits GOTS » ont été mises à jour et intégrées dans la nouvelle version du guide de certification et d’étiquetage (telle que publiée le 1er mars 2015). Par conséquent, la fiche mentionnée est désormais superflue et le guide de certification et d’étiquetage devra être utilisé pour comprendre toutes les conditions de certification et d’étiquetage correspondantes.

Protection du programme GOTS

Le Groupe de travail international enquête sur l’utilisation non autorisée, abusive ou frauduleuse du logo de la marque déposée GOTS ou sur toute autre réclamation liée à la norme GOTS (certification) sur les déclarations de produits, dans les publicités, les catalogues ou d’autres contextes ; il est soucieux de prendre des mesures appropriées telles que des actions correctives et/ou en justice et/ou la publication de la transgression de manière à préserver la crédibilité du programme GOTS et de son système d’étiquetage.

neral, anyone who sells, labels or represents any textile product so as to use the (trademark registered) GOTS label or other reference to GOTS certification must first ensure that the respective criteria and licensing conditions of the Global Organic Textile Standard Program are met.

In order to install a credible and consistent quality assurance system the International Working Group decided that beside the entire processing and manufacturing chains also traders (such as ex- and importers) are obliged to participate in the inspection and certification program as prerequisite that final products can be labelled as GOTS certified. Even if traders do not modify the products, they buy and sell organic textile products. Therefore the quantitative organic product flow is traced by the certifiers, which mainly includes reconciliation on purchase and sales volumes of organic textiles (mass balance calculation) and tracing back if all the purchased products with GOTS certification claim are indeed correctly certified. Other ways there would be no independent verification on the organic / certified product flow. As traders are not necessarily aware about the proofs and certificates required to be certain to indeed trade GOTS certified products their participation in the certification procedures ascertains that they are acquainted with and follow all relevant stipulations put in place to assure integrity of GOTS goods.

Importers that sell finally packed and labelled products directly to the end consumer without having a trade function are exempt from this certification obligation.

Certified Entities, traders, brand holders and retailers that intend to get products labelled in accordance with GOTS and/or to sell labelled products are requested to contact the applicable approved certifier for approval of their labelling (with the GOTS logo). In particular the GOTS certifier of the last operation in the textile supply chain that (is obliged to) participate in the certification chain is in charge to release the label application for final products and to provide the applicable label formats. In any case on product labelling can only be applied by GOTS certified entities.

The IWG has prepared a letter extracting ‘Important information for companies who sell or advertise textile products certified according to the Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)’ which is available for download below. The complete licensing and labelling conditions including the provisions for product marking and the related design specifications are defined in the

icon film  GOTS film  gb de fr it es jp ch ch ch ch

How to get products labelled

Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 March 2016 11:27

Anyone who intends to sell, label or represent any textile product with the trademark registered GOTS logo, with GOTS labelling and/or any other reference to GOTS (certification) must first ensure that the respective criteria and licensing conditions of the Global Organic Textile Standard Program are met.

Certification Requirements in the Supply Chain

The GOTS quality assurance system requires that beyond the entire processing and manufacturing chain (from post-harvest handling up to sewing, packing and labelling) also B2B traders (= traders that sell to other businesses such as im- and exporters, wholesalers) must participate in the inspection and certification program before final products can be labelled as GOTS certified in order to provide a credible and consistent product assurance to the end consumer.
Although traders do not modify goods, they buy and sell organic textile products and represent a crucial link to achieve transparency and traceability in the value chain. The certification of traders is based on the verification of their product flow documentation. Certifiers trace the quantity of organic textile products through mass balance calculation of purchased and sold GOTS certified textiles to ensure that all products that are sold with GOTS certification claim are indeed correctly certified. Through the certification requirement for traders it can be assured that they become aware of the documentation required to verify the authenticity of GOTS certified products and so help to ensure the integrity of GOTS goods.

Brand holders and retailers selling GOTS certified final products that are received ready packed and labelled directly and exclusively to the end consumer are generally exempt from this certification obligation. 
Further traders having an annual turnover with GOTS Goods less than 5.000€ are exempt from the certification obligation, provide they do not (re-)pack or (re-)label GOTS Goods. However such traders must register with an Approved Certifier and must inform the same immediately when their annual turnover exceeds 5.000€.

Application of the Labelling

With the completion of GOTS certification by an Approved Certifier the Certified Entity acquires a sub-licence which entitles it to participate in the GOTS programme, including use of the standard and the GOTS logo on its respective GOTS Goods in accordance with the provisions of this labelling guide and as long as the certification remains valid.

Certified Entities, traders, brand holders and retailers who intend to get products labelled in accordance with GOTS and/or to sell labelled products (with the GOTS logo) need to contact their applicable GOTS certifier (to receive the applicable logo files and) for final approval of their labelling application.  Approval for Labelling is administered through the use of the form Labelling Release for GOTS Goods, available for download here.

In all cases the GOTS labelling can only be applied to the product/packaging by a Certified Entity and must have been approved by the Certified Entity's Approved Certifier in advance of its application.

Traders, brand holders and retailers that are exempt from the GOTS certification requirement can ask their certified supplier to apply the GOTS labelling. In this case the labelling would be under survey of the GOTS certifier of the supplier and the supplier's license number would appear on the labelling.  Alternatively they may decide to apply for certification on a voluntary basis and to have their own license number printed on their certified products. 

Note: By entering the license number into the ‘free text field’ of our public data base the corresponding data set of the certified entity (that is entered by the applicable GOTS certifier) can be looked up.

Correct and Complete GOTS Labelling

For product marking the GOTS logo always must be accompanied by a reference to the applicable label grade, by a reference to the Approved Certifier who has certified the marked goods (e.g. certifier's name and/or logo) and the License Number of the Certified Entity. Accordingly the labelling contains the following elements:

 

Retailers (including mail order companies) that are not obliged to participate in the GOTS certification system can use the same GOTS labelling in catalogues and on web pages as it is used on on-product identification of the certified products they purchase. If the final products purchased do not carry on-product labelling, they must also not be presented, advertised or sold (in catalogues and wab pages) with any GOTS labelling or any certification references.

Important note: The GOTS licensing and labelling conditions do not permit to use the GOTS logo or any reference to GOTS certification on the garment / final textile product if the GOTS certification is valid for intermediate stages (such as yarn or fabric stage) or for specific components of the product only. GOTS labelling or referencing is also not permitted if the B2B traders in the supply chain do not participate in the certification system. Precondition for on-product label use is that the whole value chain and the final product is certified and that the intended labelling is explicitly approved by a GOTS certifier.

Off-Product Logo Use

In addition to its application as identification mark for GOTS Goods, the GOTS logo represents the Global Organic Textile Standard as such. It may accordingly be used only in the appropriate and unambiguous context, such as for informative and advertising purposes by:

  • Members of the International Working Group
  • Approved Certifiers referring to their approved status and offering their related quality assurance services
  • Certified Entities, brand holders and retailers with reference to their certified operational status and/or their GOTS Goods that are marked with the GOTS logo. In particular, traders and retailers may only use the GOTS logo or other reference to GOTS (certification) in this context if the referred products sold carry complete and correct GOTS on-product labelling
  • Stakeholders, NGOs, media and other parties that distribute independent (consumer) information

Off-Product Logo Use by suppliers of GOTS Additives

GOTS now permits the voluntary and limited use of the GOTS logo by suppliers of GOTS Additives.  The use of the logo is subject to the payment of an Additive License Fee and is strictly limited to off-product publicity material detailed under section 3.4 of the Labelling Guide. Use of the GOTS logo by suppliers of GOTS Additives is administered by Approved Certifiers by way of the form Labelling Release for GOTS Additives, available for download here.   

License Fees

In addition to the certification cost each certified entity must pay an annual license fee. The license fee is set at 120 Euro for each facility that is inspected for the certified entity. Irrespective of related sales, this fee also covers the right to use the GOTS logo on certified textile products. License fees are collected by the Approved Certifier and transferred to the International Working Group.

Reference Information

  • The complete licensing and labelling conditions including the provisions for product marking and the related design specifications are defined in the 'Licensing and Labelling Guide' that is introduced and available for download here.
  • Answers to frequently asked questions about licensing and labelling can be looked up here.
  • Further information about the GOTS certification process are provided for in the section 'How to become certified'.
  • The GOTS approved certifiers, their local contacts as well as the countries in which they already have certified GOTS clients are listed here.

The information provided with the previously issued sheet ‘Important information for companies who sell or advertise GOTS Goods’ has been updated and integrated in the new issue of the Licensing and Labelling Guide (as released on 01 March 2015). Accordingly the mentioned sheet is superfluous now and the Licensing and Labelling Guide should be used to understand all relevant licensing and labelling conditions.

Protection of the GOTS Program

The International Working Group investigates unauthorised, false or misleading use of the trademark registered GOTS logo or other claims related to GOTS (certification) on product declarations, in advertisements, catalogues or other contexts, and is concerned to take appropriate actions such as corrective and/or legal action and/or publication of the transgression so as to safeguard the credibility of the GOTS program and its labelling system.